Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Innovation and Economic Prosperity Universities Awards Program

APLU created the Innovation and Economic Prosperity (IEP) Universities Designation and Awards program to recognize universities that are leaders in spurring and promoting regional economic development. Participating institutions complete a rigorous self-study process. The IEP designation is earned if the university meets a specific number of benchmarks. Those who earn the designation are then eligible to apply for the IEP Awards, which are given in the categories of talent, innovation, and place.

More than 60 universities have received the designation thus far. Those who achieve the designation may then apply for the awards submit three case studies on their efforts, which can be found in the IEP Universities Library.

There are two remaining submission dates in 2018, August 3 and December 7.