Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

New Opportunities and Funding, April 2018

Society for Neuroscience Next Generation Award

The Next Generation Award recognizes Society for Neuroscience (SfN)chapter members who have made outstanding contributions to public communication, outreach, and education about neuroscience.One award is given at the predoctoral/postdoctoral level and one at the junior faculty level. Recipients receive a $750 travel award to help defray the cost of attending SfN’s annual meeting and a $300 honorarium. The recipient’s chapter receives a $2,000 grant to be used to continue the chapter’s outreach efforts in the following year. The SfN president presents the awards at a lecture at the SfN annual meeting.

When awarded to a group at the pre/postdoctoral level, each individual receives a $300 honorarium and the chapter should either appoint one person to receive the $750 travel award or determine how to split it among the members.

Nominations due by May 25.

Society for Neuroscience Educator Award

The SfNScience Educator Awardhonors two outstanding neuroscientists who have made significant contributions to educating the public about neuroscience: one who conducts education activities fulltime, and one who devotes his or her time primarily to research while conducting outreach, policy and education activities. Recipients receive a $5,000 honorarium.

Nominations are due by May 25.

Social Science/Sociology Robert Dentler Award for Outstanding Student Achievement

The American Sociological Associationwill recognize up to two graduate students who have made a promising contribution to the field, such as a project or paper in the areas of sociological practice and public sociology. Work done within the three years prior to the conferral of the award will be considered. Products of graduate-level classes, internships, or independent projects are eligible. Nominations should consist of a letter detailing the nominee’s contributions, a copy of the paper or other project, and supporting materials such as a CV or resume, and/or other additional letters of support. Send nominations to Melissa Fry, the ASA SPPS Section Chair at ( by May 15. Please also cc the Section Secretary/Treasurer Katie Kerstetter ( Self-nominations are welcome.

Closing Soon

National Society for Excellence in Experiential Education

The William M. Burke Presidential Award for Excellence in Experiential Educationwill be given to a college or university president at the National Society for Excellence in Experiential Education conference and consists of a $2,000 scholarship to be awarded to a student at the winner’s home institution for participation in an experiential program. This award recognizes a sitting college president who has made significant contributions to experiential education and who exemplifies a commitment to college students through support of experiential education on campus and in the community.

Nominations are due by May 1, 2018.