Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

New Opportunities and Funding: Oct. 7, 2015

Call for Proposals: Appalachian Summit on Service-Learning

C-N Bonner Center left-align imageCarson-Newman University will host the 3rd annual Appalachian Summit on Service-Learning Pedagogy & Practice on Feb. 6, 2016. The regional focus is intended to broaden civic development and resilience in Appalachia.

  • More information and submit proposals here.
  • Register for conference here.

EPA: National Student Design Competition for Sustainability ($15-$75K.)

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), as part of the P3-People, Prosperity and the Planet Award Program, is seeking applications proposing to research, develop, and design solutions to real world challenges involving the overall sustainability of human society. The P3 competition highlights the use of scientific principles in creating innovative projects focused on sustainability. The P3 Award program was developed to foster progress toward sustainability by achieving the mutual goals of improved quality of life, economic prosperity and protection of the planet — people, prosperity, and the planet – the three pillars of sustainability. The EPA offers the P3 competition in order to respond to the technical needs of the world while moving towards the goal of sustainability. Deadline Dec 8, 2015

American Sociological Association Community Action Research Initiative (CARI) Grant

The purpose of the CARI grants is to encourage sociologists to undertake community action projects that bring social science knowledge, methods, and expertise to bear in addressing community-identified issues and concerns. Grant applications are encouraged from sociologists seeking to work with community organizations, local public interest groups, or community action projects. Sociologists are expected to work in relevant community organizations. Awards will range from $1,000 to $3,000 with 4 to 8 grants awarded. Deadline to apply is February 15, 2016.

U.S. Department of Commerce: Grants for Minority Business Development Agency Centers

This funding is available for the MBDA Business Center program and solicits competitive applications for operators of MBDA Business Centers in 29 locations. MBDA Business Centers are established to provide technical assistance and business development services. The technical assistance and business development services are provided through federal financial assistance awards to generate increased financing and contract opportunities for minority business enterprises (MBEs). In addition, the services provided will assist MBEs in creating and retaining jobs. Award amounts range from $285,400 to $337,875. Deadline to apply is December 3, 2015.

Stephen J. Brady Stop Hunger Student Scholarships

The Stephen J. Brady Stop Hunger Scholarships recognize and reward students who have made a significant impact in the fight against hunger. The scholarship recipients each receive $5,000 for their education as well as a matching grant in their name for the hunger-related charity of their choice. Scholarships are open to students ages 5-25 enrolled in an accredited educational institution in the United States. Applicants must have demonstrated on-going commitment to their community by performing unpaid volunteer services impacting hunger in the United States at least within the last 12 months. Added consideration is given to students working to fight childhood hunger. Deadline to apply is December 5, 2015.

Oak Institute Human Rights Fellowship

Each year, the Oak Institute for the Study of International Human Rights hosts an Oak Human Rights Fellow to teach and conduct research while residing at Colby College. The Institute organizes lectures and other events centered around the fellow’s area of expertise. Oak strives to educate the campus and extended community about the work being done by the Fellow. This annual award allows one prominent activist in international human rights to take a break from front-line work to spend the fall semester in residence at Colby College in Waterville, Maine. Deadline for nominations is November 6, 2015.

Phillip E. Frandson Award for Literature in Professional, Continuing, and Online Higher Education

The Philip E. Frandson Award for Literature in the Field of Professional, Continuing, and Online Higher Education recognizes the author and publisher of an outstanding work of continuing higher education literature. The Frandson Book Award will be presented to the author(s) of a book or monograph which best satisfies the following criteria:

  • The work is published in 2015.
  • The work is important to the theory or practice of professional, continuing, and online higher education.
  • The work exemplifies originality and a superior quality of prose in the English language.

Nominated books must be received by December 1, 2015.